bunny sitting on top of stack of books

Disappearing into a book is my favorite way of taking a break from the stresses and worries of COVID-19. While I enjoy many literary styles, mystery remains my favorite. One of my go-to authors in the cozy mystery style is Nancy Atherton. Her Aunt Dimity series takes place in the village of Finch in the Cotswolds of England and comes complete with a wide variety of quirky characters. The books focus on a woman named Lori who inherits a cottage from her mother’s best friend, Dimity. When Lori and her stuffed rabbit Reginald discover a blue leather bound journal left by Dimity the adventures begin. This charming series proves that not all mysteries revolve around murders.

To date there are 24 books in the series. You can find 22 of the titles in e-book format in Overdrive. In Hoopla you will find 6 of the titles in audio book format, while EPL’s physical collection has 19 of the titles. While it is best to read the books in order since there are often references to things that happened in previous books, you can read them in any order you wish.

  1. Aunt Dimity’s Death (1992)
  2. Aunt Dimity and the Duke (1994)
  3. Aunt Dimity’s Good Deed (1996)
  4. Aunt Dimity Digs In (1998)
  5. Aunt Dimity’s Christmas (1999)
  6. Aunt Dimity Beats the Devil (2000)
  7. Aunt Dimity: Detective (2001)
  8. Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday (2003)
  9. Aunt Dimity: Snowbound (2004)
  10. Aunt Dimity and the Next of Kin (2005)
  11. Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (2006)
  12. Aunt Dimity Goes West (2007)
  13. Aunt Dimity: Vampire Hunter (2008)  *Introducing Aunt Dimity, Paranormal Detective (2009)
  14. Aunt Dimity Slays the Dragon (2009)
  15. Aunt Dimity Down Under (2010)
  16. Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree (2011)
  17. Aunt Dimity and the Village Witch (2012)
  18. Aunt Dimity and the Lost Prince (2013)
  19. Aunt Dimity and the Wishing Well (2014)
  20. Aunt Dimity and the Summer King (2015)
  21. Aunt Dimity and the Buried Treasure (2016)
  22. Aunt Dimity and the Widow’s Curse (2017)
  23. Aunt Dimity and the King’s Ransom (2018)
  24. Aunt Dimity and the Heart of Gold (2019)

*Omnibus edition including Aunt Dimity’s Death and Aunt Dimity and the Duke

Recommended for fans of Donna Andrews, Carolyn Hart, Lorna Barrett, M.C. Beaton, and Ellery Adams.

1 Comment

  1. Cristin on April 7, 2020 at 3:34 pm

    I love a good mystery, thank you for recommending a new series for me to start and I am thankful for all of the reading and listening options!